IPL 2018: MS Dhoni provides additional silverware to trophy cupboard


By: Sports Desk | Mumbai |
Revealed: Could 28, 2018 1:45:31 pm

MS Dhoni receives the IPL trophy from BCCI acting president CK Khanna alongside other BCCI officials MS Dhoni carry his third IPL trophy on Sunday. (Supply: BCCI)

On Sunday, Chennai Tremendous Kings’s numbers learn as such: 9 IPL seasons performed, reached the IPL playoffs in all 9 of them, with a remaining look in seven of them and as issues transpired, a 3rd title adopted by the tip of the night time in Mumbai. CSK had earlier received the IPL in 2010 and 2011 and, at Wankhede Stadium, with an eight wicket win, bagged the third trophy underneath the captaincy of MS Dhoni. Getting back from a two 12 months suspension, CSK’s want to win was simply the identical if no more. Dhoni’s potential to guide groups in main tournaments and in main video games as soon as once more got here to the fore as CSK chased down the 179 run goal with some consolation. By lifting the trophy aloft, Dhoni received his tenth main title as skipper of a group.

Put in to chase 179 runs within the remaining, CSK began off slowly earlier than Shane Watson turned on the fireworks and stood unbeaten on 117 runs, from 57 balls, on the finish as gamers donning yellow celebrated. Many had written off CSK earlier than the event even started as a result of getting older squad. Nonetheless, the Dhoni-captained unit used that age issue to their benefit by capitalising on the expertise of gamers in essential video games and to stay unaffected regardless of shifting of their residence video games from MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai to the MCA Stadium in Pune.

When requested how this win compares to the 2 instances he had received prior to now, Dhoni stated, “Very difficult to recall what the earlier championship wins were. A lot of people talk about stats, so tonight is 27th, my jersey number is seven and this is the seventh final for us. Enough reasons to win it. But none of these reasons matter, what matters is that we’ve won it in the end.”

Checklist of main trophies received by MS Dhoni 

three IPL titles (2010, 2011, 2018)

ICC World Cup (2011)

T20 World Cup (2007)

Champions Trophy (2013)

2 Asia Cup crowns (2010, 2016)

2 Champions League T20 titles (2010, 2014)

For all the most recent Sports News, obtain Indian Express App

© IE On-line Media Providers Pvt Ltd

Spread the love

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *